Justin Timberlake | Music | News | Pet Shop Boys | Robbie Daw

Music News: Pet Shop Boys On iTunes, Talk U.S. Tour, Plus Velvet, Ciara, Justin Timberlake, Green Day, Utada


GuestbloggerROBBIE DAW 

Robbie Daw presents a weekly pop music update here on Towleroad. Robbie runs his own site called Chart Rigger.

Two EPs for the new Pet Shop Boys single "Love etc." were added to U.S. iTunes yesterday, one containing the regular version of the song plus two B-sides ("Gin And Jag" and "We're All Criminals Now"), and one that consists of five remixes (the best of which, IMO, being from Gui Borratto and the PSBs themselves). The remix EP is currently at #78 on the iTunes daily Top Albums tally.

Loveetc "Love etc." became the duo's 40th Top 20 hit in their home country last week, as it debuted at #14 on the official U.K. singles chart. Meanwhile, their 10th studio album Yes was released across Europe on Monday, and it's currently at #1 on British midweek charts, just barely selling over 1,000 copies more than a collection of Mother's Day ballads by Boyzone frontman Ronan Keating. If Yes does indeed land at the top in England, it'll be the Pet Shop Boys' first #1 album since 1993's Very, and only their second ever.

As far as the States, Yes will be released on April 21, with a full North American tour planned for this fall. The dates aren't yet set, but Neil Tennant tells Billboard, "They are just talking about it now. On our last tour we sold out Radio City Music hall really quickly. We played there on our first tour in 1991 so nothing's really changed. We always had this following in Los Angeles which to a certain extent we still do. Years ago I met Monica Lewinsky. I introduced myself and she said 'oh yeah, I know who you are, I grew up in L.A. in the '80s.'"

Adds Chris Lowe, "I think the idea is to be more high-tech and more multi-media than the last [tour] show. It's not going to be a costume drama but there might be a few wigs."

road.jpg   AUDIO VISUALS:

VELVET: The Swedish singer's "Chemistry" gets a full retro overhaul from Stock Aitken Waterman's onetime mixer, Pete Hammond.

LADY GAGA: A leather-clad, stripped-down performance of "Poker Face" for Chicago's B96-FM.

CIARA + JUSTIN TIMBERLAKE: The official video for new single, "Love Sex Magic."

GREEN DAY: New songs from forthcoming album 21st Century Breakdown, which was announced today as having a May 15 release date.


UtadaThis Is The One, the third English-language release from Japanese pop star Utada. The album is released digitally from Island Def Jam this week and will have a physical CD release on May 12.

The Indigo Girls' two-disc Poseidon And The Bitter Bug—the first half of which is 10 songs with a full backing band, while the second half is the same songs with only Amy Ray and Emily Sailiers on acoustic guitars and vocals.

Royksopp's third album Junior, featuring Robyn singing vocals on the track "The Girl And The Robot."

Timbaland protege Keri Hilson's debut set, In A Perfect World...

The Hannah Montana: The Movie soundtrack.

Radiohead's 2-CD/DVD reissued albums Pablo Honey, The Bends and OK Computer (not available digitally).

Feed This post's comment feed


  1. Sorry, but I'm not waiting a month for the new PSB. In the age of file-sharing, that's pretty dumb to release an album at different times for different countries.

    Posted by: crispy | Mar 25, 2009 5:30:11 PM

  2. So they dropped her first name because... they thought she'd sell better? My friends and I were just having this discussion the other day about how it's so hard for Japanese artists to make a name for themselves in the states, but I'm hoping that will change because American audiences are missing out on some really intelligent artists.

    Posted by: x0x | Mar 25, 2009 5:49:23 PM

  3. She dropped her first name a long time ago X0X, this is nothing new.

    The new Green Day shows promise, I'm excited.

    Gaga needs to move on already, make another song or quit! Show your real talent girl.

    Timberlake and Ciara *rolls eyes* It's like an amalgam of SexyBack and Nelly Furtado, resorting to the same old formula then Timberlake? And I even love Nelly Furtado. That said, the song isn't half bad, it just seems really formulaic.

    Posted by: Brandon | Mar 25, 2009 7:51:34 PM

  4. I totally agree on the PSB remixes. You called out the best two mixes. It's been in heavy rotation this week.

    Posted by: Brad | Mar 25, 2009 8:30:57 PM

  5. Correct me if I'm wrong, but didn't Utada (Hikaru) drop her last name, not her first?

    Posted by: Brooks | Mar 25, 2009 9:06:07 PM

  6. Utada is her surname (coincedentally "uta" means song in Nihongo/Japanese).

    The new Röyksopp is so-so. Just like The Understanding, it's hit and miss. The Robyn track is aight, but not great. It's kinda like a sped up version of the song she did with Kleerup, "With Every Heartbeat"... pretty unispiring unfortunately. "Tricky Tricky" with Karin Dreijer (from The Knife) is a sweet track, but again it leaves me wanting for that same magic they shared on "What Else Is There?". The rest of the album is basically filler. On the upside, there is a great remix of the first track, "Happy Up Here", by Boys Noize on the EP.

    I dunno. We'll have to see what the next album, Senior, brings.

    Posted by: RP | Mar 26, 2009 12:41:05 AM

  7. I'm pretty sure "This Is the One" is only Utada's second English-language album. Unless you're counting the Cubic-U album she did when she was a wee tot.

    Posted by: NemesisVex | Mar 26, 2009 9:18:20 AM

  8. bitch, bitch, bitch!

    Posted by: marc | Mar 26, 2009 10:09:43 AM

  9. Another new album out this week? Jazz singer extraordinaire Basia ("Time and Tide") released her first new album in 15 years.

    Posted by: Alessar | Mar 26, 2009 10:13:53 PM

Post a comment


« «Vermont Governor Says He Will Veto Same-Sex Marriage Bill« «