The OXD Mirror: New Music for 11.23.12












Faith Evans: 'Love Like This (Behling + Simpson Edit)'

Many of you are probably familiar with Faith Evans' 1998 hit 'Love Like This,' a decidedly 70’s Disco and R&B era inspired song that
came out in a time where it was still not a favored genre to reference.  The track samples 'Chic Cheer' by American disco group Chic. The video even featured Evans on roller
skates breezing around a roller rink, showing the world her renewed positive
outlook after the recent loss of her ex, Notorious B.I.G.  The genius of this song, even over 10 years
after its release, was not lost on DJ and production duo Behling & Simpson.  Known for their love of the slow dance beat,
they’ve infused their fresh take into this song and made it relevant again in
2012.  Don’t be surprised if you hear
this one out.


Viceroy: 'While We're In Love (feat. Ghost Beach)'

Producer Viceroy seems to be having fun qith his own brand of poolside ready nu-disco music
and remixes. Tadeu featured his remix of DCup's 'I'm Corrupt' on 10/5’s OXD Mirror and we’ve kept a
close eye on him ever since.  His latest
single, featuring New York City duo Ghost Beach, infuses their synth-heavy 80's sound with his masterful production.  The result is a hard-hitting dance track with lots of juicy peaks and plateaus.


New Navy: 'Regular Town'

New Navy have an interesting rap sheet – they started out playing dark indie tunes, then collaborated with the likes of Tiësto and ultimately signed to the Future Classic record label, home of Flight Facilities and Anna Lunoe.  A summer trip to Bali shifted the Aussie band's direction to a more tropical and laidback vibe.  Perhaps the single cover might give that away, but that direction is strongly felt in their latest catchy pop tune 'Regular Town'.


The Presets: 'Promises (Lifelike Remix)'

Though they've been around for nearly 10 years, The Presets are really lighting up the music world with their latest album Pacifica.  The band is one of the few like Cut Copy that survived the life and death of electro-pop music, with a sound evolving and becoming more sophisticated with each album.  The third single from the album, 'Promises', has gotten the remix treatment from quite a few producers, including Plastic Plates, whose remix for Sam Sparro is featured earlier in this post.  French electronic producer Lifelike, who has worked with artists like Chromeo, Empire Of The Sun and A-Trak, mixes in a layer of richness and complexity to the already lush track. This is the second re-work Lifelike provides to the Aussie duo, following their now classic version for 'This Boy's in Love,' released in 2008. 


This week's post was written and curated by Josh Appelbaum.

For more information on OXD, check out our website and accompanying blog at, like us on Facebook, or follow us on Twitter: @OccupyTheDisco.