2014 Independent Spirit Awards Handed Out: Full List of Winners

Best Feature
>>12 Years A Slave
All Is Lost
Frances Ha
Inside Llewyn Davis

Best Director
Shane Carruth, Upstream Color
J.C. Chandor, All Is Lost
>>Steve McQueen, 12 Years A Slave
Jeff Nichols, Mud
Alexander Payne, Nebraska

Best Female Lead
>>Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine
Julie Delpy, Before Midnight
Gaby Hoffmann, Crystal Fairy
Brie Larson, Short Term 12
Shailene Woodley, The Spectacular Now

Best Male Lead
Bruce Dern, Nebraska
Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years A Slave
Oscar Isaac, Inside Llewyn Davis
Michael B. Jordan, Fruitvale Station
>>Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club
Robert Redford, All Is Lost

Best Screenplay
Woody Allen, Blue Jasmine
Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke & Richard Linklater, Before Midnight
Nicole Holofcener, Enough Said
Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber, The Spectacular Now
>>John Ridley, 12 Years A Slave

Best Supporting Female
Melonie Diaz, Fruitvale Station
Sally Hawkins, Blue Jasmine
>>Lupita Nyong'o, 12 Years a Slave
Yolonda Ross, Go For Sisters
June Squibb, Nebraska

Best Supporting Male
Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave
Will Forte, Nebraska
James Gandolfini, Enough Said
>>Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club
Keith Stanfield, Short Term 12

Best First Screenplay
Lake Bell, In A World
Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Don Jon
>>Bob Nelson, Nebraska
Jill Soloway, Afternoon Delight
Mike Starrbury, The Inevitable Defeat of Mister and Pete

Best Cinematography
>>Sean Bobbitt, 12 Years A Slave
Benoit Debie, Spring Breakers
Bruno Delbonnel, Inside Llewyn Davis
Frank G. Demarco, All Is Lost
Matthias Grunsky, Computer Chess

Best Editing
Shane Carruth & David Lowery, Upstream Color
Jem Cohen & Marc Vives, Museum Hours
Frank G. Demarco, All Is Lost
Matthias Grunsky, Computer Chess
>>Nat Sanders, Short Term 12

Best Documentary
>>20 Feet From Stardom, Director/Producer: Morgan Neville, Producers: Gil Friesen & Caitrin Rogers
After Tiller, Directors/Producers: Martha Shane & Lana Wilson
Gideon’s Army, Director/Producer: Dawn Porter, Producer: Julie Goldman
The Act of Killing, Director/Producer: Joshua Oppenheimer, Producers: Joram Ten Brink, Christine Cynn, Anne Köhncke, Signe Byrge Sørensen, Michael Uwemedimo
The Square, Director: Jehane Noujaim, Producer: Karim Amer

Best International Film
A Touch of Sin (China)
>>Blue is the Warmest Color (France)
Gloria (Chile)
The Great Beauty (Italy)
The Hunt (Denmark)

Best First Feature
Blue Caprice, Director/Producer: Alexandre Moors; Producers: Kim Jackson, Brian O’Carroll, Isen Robbins, Will Rowbotham, Ron Simons, Aimee Schoof, Stephen Tedeschi; Concussion, Director: Stacie Passon, Producer: Rose Troche
>>Fruitvale Station, Director: Ryan Coogler; Producers: Nina Yang Bongiovi, Forest Whitaker
Una Noche, Director/Producer: Lucy Mulloy, Producers: Sandy Pérez Aguila, Maite Artieda, Daniel Mulloy, Yunior Santiago
Wadjda, Director: Haifaa Al Mansour, Producers: Gerhard Meixner, Roman Paul

John Cassavetes Award
Computer Chess, Writer/Director: Andrew Bujalski, Producers: Houston King & Alex Lipschultz
Crystal Fairy, Writer/Director: Sebastiàn Silva, Producers: Juan de Dios Larrain & Pablo Larrain
Museum Hours, Writer/Director: Jem Cohen, Producers: Paolo Calamita & Gabriele Kranzelbinder
Pit Stop, Writer/Director: Yen Tan, Writer: David Lowery, Producers: Jonathan Duffy, James M. Johnston, Eric Steele, Kelly Williams
>>This is Martin Bonner, Writer/Director: Chad Hartigan, Producer: Cherie Saulter

Robert Altman Award
Mud, Director: Jeff Nichols, Casting Director: Francine Maisler, Ensemble Cast: Joe Don Baker, Jacob Lofland, Matthew McConaughey, Ray McKinnon, Sarah Paulson, Michael Shannon, Sam Shepard, Tye Sheridan, Paul Sparks, Bonnie Sturdivant, Reese Witherspoon


  1. MichaelJ says

    The IFC broadcast of the Independent Spirit awards was really poor. Tons of speeches were edited down, and the giving out of some awards were omitted entirely, including those for Best Cinematographer, Editing and Foreign Language Film.

    As the line between studio and independent production of film has become less clear over time, the Independent Spirit awards have become increasingly meaningless. The difference among the group of films that may be called “independent” varies so much, for it contains everything from “12 Years a Slave,” which had Brad Pitt as a co-producer ready to get on the phone and find more funding when money was needed, to “This is Martin Bonner,” which was made for $42,000. Moreover, the awards usually go to the most prominent commercially successful of those films and the actors within them. And Academy Award nominations have become given more and more to prominent (and even no so prominent) “independents,” the IFS winners are often not much different than those who take home Oscars the following day. It’s highly likely that the four actors who won IFS award yesterday will also be winners tonight, in addition to “12 Years…” grabbing both prizes.

  2. jarago says

    Independent film in this context does not mean low budget- I still think the best movie of the year was “Behind the Candelabra” but that was on HBO

Leave A Reply