The OXD Mirror: Tadeu’s Top 10 Songs of 2012












7. Stereogamous: 'Face Love Anew'

Though Stereogamous' debut track, 'Face Love Anew,' was only released this past month, it quickly racked up plays on my iTunes within a matter of days along with making it into my list of top tracks for the year. The song, which features vocals by Shaun J. Wright (formerly of Hercules And Love Affair), is an hypnotic house track with an beautiful melody starting only at the 5:20 mark. The build up is so strong it leaves us with no option but to repeat the track again and again, in anticipation of its epic ending.


6. The KDMS: 'Wonderman'

The KDMS' debut album, Kinky Dramas & Magic Stories, has been on repeat throughout the year with its consistent set of amazing disco tracks. 'Wonderman' was the first single off the album and I still can't get enough of Kathy Diamond's sweet vocals and Maximilian Skiba's flawless production.


5. Moullinex: 'Darkest Night'

'Darkest Night,' my favorite track off Moulinex's debut album, Flora, gives a sophisticated sound not found often in the music world lately. The diva-inspired vocals by Iwona Skwarek, the dark, tense mood as it starts, the delicate break, and the slightly tribal beats are all elements that work perfectly together to create the sexiest house track of 2012.


4. Róisín Murphy: 'Simulation'

It is no secret that we absolutely love Róisín Murphy at OXD and that we are anxiously awaiting a possible third album coming out sometime in the near future. In the meantime, Róisín has graced us with 'Simulation,' an 11-and-a-half-minute slow-motion disco track that is as lush and edgy as classic disco anthems like Donna Summer's 'Love To Love You Baby' and Loose Joints' 'Is It All Over My Face'. Though Róisín's fashion style already serves as inspiration to some pop divas, it would be interesting to see her influence extend to the music realm as well.


3. Lindstrøm: ' Ęg-gęd-ōsis (Todd Terje Extended Edit)'

Lindstrøm's collaboration with Todd Terje resulted in an album full of gems, titled Smalhans, with tracks curiously named after traditional Norwegian meals, including this track 'Ęg-gęd-ōsis'. This space-disco song dismisses the regular 4×4 beats of most dance songs in favor of a deconstructed structure that makes this work much more interesting to listen and dance to.


2. Chicken Lips: 'D.R.O.M.P. (The Emperor Machine Extended Version)'

The Emperor Machine's re-interpretation of the latest Chicken Lips track, the NYC-style disco 'D.R.O.M.P.', might quickly become the quintessential track of the space-disco genre, which has been increasingly popular as of late. It is hard not to imagine yourself dancing with the milky way as your backdrop, as the sci-fi inspired synths and melodies are layered one over another.


1. Midnight Magic & Tommie Sunshine: 'I Found Love (Dimitri From Paris & DJ Rocca EroDiscoDub)

(Unfortunately, there are no available streams for this song. It is included in Dimitri From Paris' latest compilation, Back In The House, which I highly recommend in its entirety and can be purchased on iTunes)

Hailing from Brooklyn, NY, the 9-piece disco act Midnight Magic & producer Tommie Sunshine teamed up to create 'I Found Love,' an epic orchestral track with everything a disco lover could ask for: lifting, gospel-inspired vocals, trumpets, pianos and a groovy bass. Dimitri From Paris & DJ Rocca re-worked the already powerful song, adding in samples of Donna Summer's 'I Feel Love' iconic bass line, and focusing on the instrumental parts of the original version, leaving the vocals to the ending. The result is an orgasmic work that I consider to be the ultimate disco anthem of 2012.


This week's post was written and curated by Tadeu Magalhães.

For more information on OXD, check out our website and accompanying blog at, like us on Facebook, or follow us on Twitter: @OccupyTheDisco.



  1. Caliban says

    No offense to these guys because I’m sure they know their stuff and enthusiasm is a grand thing, but I preferred TR’s old music feature because it wasn’t limited to ONE style of music. There’s no reason why there can’t be more than one music feature, right? So how about some posts by other people for balance or variety, a little less dance-clubby? It’s just not my thing…

  2. bravo says

    Oh dear…I am officially old. Prior to today, I had never heard any of these songs, never heard of any of the artists, and never heard of any of the remixers or mixers.

    Is this what the kids are listening to nowadays? Has this replaced the hip and/or hop that the kids used to listen to?

  3. kiki says

    Seems awfully… something (tacky, pathetic, anticlimactic?) that the number one song is the only one not available for listening. Should have had something else in the slot and have the current song as an honorable mention.

    I could only get through about half of the songs posted (5 out of 9) so not terrible. But I too would prefer some music feature with more variety.

  4. says

    Delhi gujarati samaj is a one stop stand for online Gujarati Match Making, that allows prospective Indian brides and Indian grooms to convene and talk regarding matrimony. We use the most advanced find technology available for our gujrati boys in delhi and gujarati girls in delhi matrimonial service.

  5. bostonbeat says

    I love this type of sound. It a mix of electro, 80’s, pop and disco. Every time I read the post their is at least one song I enjoy. It’s much better than what is playing in the Top 40!

  6. says

    While I agree with many of the commentors that the OXD posts cover a very narrow sliver of the music that is out there, I really enjoyed a lot of the tracks off their end of the year lists. And it may seem crazy for people like “GRENOBLE” to read that and then also have me state that I’m not into drugs at all, just not my thing. I do however love to “cut a rug!”

    I for one would love lots of music columns on this site with all sorts of music coverage.

Leave A Reply