The OXD Mirror: New Music for 10.31.13


Miami Horror – 'Real Slow (Plastic Plates Remix)'

Australian collective Miami Horror's latest single 'Real Slow' gets a groovy '70s style remake courtesy of fellow countryman Plastic Plates. The song is available as a free download on Miami Horror's Facebook page.


Katy B – 'I Like You'

I recently featured Katy B's fantastic new single, '5am,' which finally sees it's release next month (it was pushed back for unknown reasons). The B-side, 'I Like You' has Katy teaming up with one of my favorite producers, George FitzGerald. The German maestro creates a thumping, house fusion backdrop that complements Katy's sweet vocals, creating a late night burner that's begging for a spin on the dancefloor.


Disclosure -'Apollo'

Disclosure's debut album Settle may have just released earlier this summer but it's been in pretty heavy rotation so the world is eager to hear what's next from the band of brothers. They just released a new track, 'Apollo,' which is testament to Disclosure's mastery of the late-night, bass-heavy jam. As of now there's no other accompanying information as to whether it will be released as part of a new EP or album, but it will certainly satiate us for the time being.


OCCUPY THE DISCO (OXD) curates and recommends music events to the gay community in NYC—in an effort to move the focus of the nightlife scene beyond the promoter and venue and to the music itself. OXD's goal is to educate, entertain, engage and empower the gay audience to reclaim their ability to question and experience the unknown. The OXD Mirror will serve to showcase tunes that are definitely off-the-beaten-path but rightfully deserve the attention of the gay ear.

This week's post was written and curated by Ru Bhatt. Check out more of his music picks on his podcast, The Ru-Mix and on Made In Brazil.

Be sure to check out these tracks and more on our Spotify Playlist. For more information on OXD, check out our website and accompanying blog at, like us on Facebook, or follow us on Twitter: @OccupyTheDisco.